Sometimes you are added to a WhatsApp group without your permission and this could be really annoying in most of the cases. So, to save you from this, WhatsApp has updated its Group Invitation feature. With the use of this feature, you can stop people from adding you to an unwanted WhatsApp group.
By default, any WhatsApp user can add you to a group without your permission. But with this feature, users will need your permission before adding you to a WhatsApp group. You can even customize this feature to your contacts or some specific people from your contacts.
The new WhatsApp Group Invitation feature is available on both Android and iOS platforms.
How To Customize WhatsApp Group Invitation
This new feature is available under WhatsApp Settings.
1] Go to Settings> Account > Privacy > Groups.
2[ There are three options of limiting your privacy settings for Group invitation- Everyone, My Contacts, and Nobody.
So, if the user chooses ‘Nobody', he/she cannot be added to any of the groups directly. Rather the user will receive a request every time someone tries to add him/her to a group.
Similarly, on the iPhone:
1] Open WhatsApp, and tap on the Settings.
2] Go to the Accounts section, and select Privacy.
3] Now, click on Groups and choose from “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” or “Nobody” based on whom you want to allow to add you in a group.
Moreover, there is a Group link feature. So, you will still be able to join a group with this link that is created when the group is made. This link can be used to join a group even with a privacy option set to nobody.
This is how you can stop being added to the WhatsApp group. The WhatsApp Group Invitation feature is available for both Android and iOS users. Let us know you face any issue setting this privacy on your phone.