WhatsApp does not inform its users if they’re blocked by someone on the platform. Further, the ambiguous privacy features make it quite tricky to judge whether you’re blocked or just being ignored. However, there are some simple tell-tale signs that’ll help you verify the same. In this article, let’s have a quick look at how to check if you are blocked on WhatsApp.
How to Check if You Are Blocked On Whatsapp
1. You’ll no longer see Contact Updates
If someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you’ll no longer see their profile picture, About Me info, or status updates. Moreover, you won’t be able to see their last seen status or online activity even when they’re active.
Note that WhatsApp lets users hide their profile picture, about me information, and last seen activity through privacy settings. Hence, these signs alone don’t necessarily mean that he or she has blocked you yet.
2. Messages won’t get delivered
Any messages you send won’t get delivered to the person who has blocked you. You will always see the single tick instead of double ticks, which means that the message has been sent but not delivered to the contact.
Anyway, there are fair chances that the other person is offline and doesn’t have an active internet connection. You can confirm the same through any of your mutual contacts.
3. Calls won’t go through; Group Creation won’t work.
If you’re blocked, any calls you attempt to place will not go through. The call will automatically disconnect after showing ‘calling’ status for about a minute and a half.
Furthermore, you won’t be able to add that contact to a new or existing group chat. To check the same, create a new group with the person as the other participant. If you see the pop-up “Couldn’t add <contact name>,” then they might’ve blocked you. But then again, WhatsApp lets their users customize who can add them to groups.
Tip: Check WhatsApp Online Activity through Third-party Apps
There are a lot of third-party apps like SeeLine, WhatzTrack, WhatsLog, etc. available on Google Play Store that let you see online timings, alongside notifications each time a contact comes online or goes offline. If messages don’t get delivered on WhatsApp, but the app shows otherwise, then you are indeed blocked by the other party. You can check the same through a different WhatsApp account if available.
If you see all of the above signs for a particular contact, then there’s a good chance that he or she has blocked you on WhatsApp. Anyway, which method do you use to check if someone has blocked you? Do let us know in the comments below. Feel free to reach out in case of any doubts or queries.